Category Archives: Blogs

Massachusetts All-State Music Festival Audition Results, Jan. 21, 2017

Congratulations to my horn student Eliza Jones, 11th grader from Belmont, MA, who gained admission to the Massachusetts All-State Music Festival in the spring. Eliza will be among the top high school musicians in the state performing together. Well done!
I also want to give make mention of Linnea Metelmann and Andrew Descheneaux, both of whom received All-State recommendations. All three of these gifted hornists, plus Milind Sundaram, will be joining me this summer at the Saarburg International Chamber Music Festival in Germany.

Junior District Festival Audition Results, January, 2017

My middle school horn students had excellent results at the Eastern and Northeastern Junior District auditions on January 28, 2017: Eastern Junior District: Nicholas Lee: Principal Horn in Band (highest horn score in the entire District!) Andrew Wang: First Horn-2 in Band Elan Peng: Second Horn-2 in Band Northeastern Junior District: Lydia Haddad: Principal Horn…Continue Reading

Graduating Seniors from French Horn Studio

Congratulations to the graduating high school seniors from French Horn Studio in 2015: Alex Hsia, Boston, attending Princeton in the fall Maddie Jacks, Newton, attending Cornell in the fall Nicky Osborn, Belmont, attending Bates College in the fall Tina Shan, Beijing, attending Univ of Mass. in the fall I wish all of you the best…Continue Reading

Senior District Festivals

On January 10, seven of my students performed at the Massachusetts Eastern and Northeastern High School Senior District Festivals. Kudos to all of you who participated: Eleanor Carlile Tun-Yiu Cheng Alex Hsia Eliza Jones Nicky Osborn Anna Peng Tina ShanContinue Reading

Jim’s High School Student Senior District Winners

Congratulations to my high school students who successfully auditioned and will be participants in the Massachusetts Senior District Music Festivals this winter. I am very proud of all of you! Northeast District: Nicky Osborn, 3rd Chair Principal in Festival Orchestra Eleanor Carlile, 2nd Chair Principal in Festival Band Eliza Jones, 3rd Chair Principal in Festival…Continue Reading